February 1, 2023 11:56 pm


26 Congress Leaders Join BJP Four Days Ahead Of Polling in Himachal

Rebel leaders from Congress were welcomed into the BJP's party fold by Chief Minister Jairam Thakur and Sudhan Singh, who is in charge of BJP state elections

2min Read

With only four days to the poll, Indian National Congress received a setback in Himachal Pradesh as 26 of its leaders left the party to join Bharatiya Janata Party. Former General Secretary of the Pradesh Congress Committee Dharampal Thakur Khand was one of the leaders who jumped ships in the presence of the incumbent chief minister of the state Jairam Thakur. 

Know more about the poll-bound states including Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh with #ElectionPamphlet 

These rebel leaders were welcomed to the party fold by current chief minister Jairam Thakur and Sudhan Singh who is in charge of BJP state elections. While welcoming the leaders, CM Thakur said, ‘Let us work together for the historic victory of the BJP.’

With the former general secretary, many of the leaders who joined the BJP were young dynamic leaders of INC. These include former councilor Rajan Thakur, Youth Congress Leader Rahul Negi, former general secretary of Youth Congress Munish Mandla, former district vice president Amit Mehta, and district congress committee secretary Devendra Singh. 

While Rahul Gandhi is busy walking across the country in his ‘Bharat Jodo Yatra’, the urgency to do a ‘Congress Jodo Yatra’ seems more important. As Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh, both BJP-ruled states, go into polling in the next two months, it would be interesting to see if Congress can make a comeback. 

Recently, Gujarat Congress leaders Himanshu Vyas and Naresh Raval joined hands with BJP. It isn’t just Congress leaders that are jumping ships during the election wave, Balkrishna Patel a former BJP MLA from Gujarat joined INC.

In the next three years, India will be in the election mood as, after Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh, the fight for Rajasthan, Andhra Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, and Maharashtra will begin in 2023. That will be followed by the Lok Sabha elections in 2024.

The fight in Himachal Pradesh can be seen straight one between INC and BJP, while in Gujarat AAP is been trying to swoop in between the fight of the giants. Can INC recover from this sudden loss in Himachal Pradesh just four days before polling?

Simran sharma
Simran sharma

Left handed, Right Minded, Aspiring Journalist!

All Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Popular Posts

Video Posts